skip to content


Interdisciplinary Research Centre

Networks and Distribution research within the energy initiative is carried out across a number of departments and research groups at the University of Cambridge.

Power Electronics research includes:

  • Nanoscale materials and device design for energy conversion, including graphene for energy harvesting, storage, conversion and delivery.
  • Integrated and discrete semiconductor devices, smart sensors and MEMS integrated circuits for power switching and control, for example to make optimum grid connections for large photovoltaic electric generation systems.


Superconductivity research includes:

  • YBCO-based superconductors for lossless power transmission
  • fault-current limiters and energy-storage applications
  • novel high current device applications of engineering superconductors


Electricity networks including regulation is covered by the Energy Policy Research Group

We collaborate with industrial partners and are also actively involved in increasing both energy awareness and public understanding of the opportunities and challenges in networks and distribution.

Please visit individual faculty profiles to learn more about their research in the Networks and Distribution theme. 

People specializing in this area

Principal Investigators

Professor Ross  Anderson
Professor of Security Engineering
Professor David  Cardwell
Head of Department of Engineering
Professor of Superconducting Engineering
Professor Judith  Driscoll
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Professor of Materials Science
Dr Shailaja  Fennell
Lecturer in Development Studies
Professor Frank  Kelly
Professor of the Mathematics of Systems
Master of Christ's College
Professor David  Newbery
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Director of the Energy Policy Research Group
Emeritus Professor of Economics
Dr. Patrick R Palmer
Reader in Electrical Engineering
Professor Michael  Pollitt
Professor of Business Economics
Assistant Director of the Energy Policy Research Group
Member of Energy Transitions@Cambridge Strategic Advisory Board
01223 339615
Professor Peter  Robinson
Professor of Computer Technology
Professor Florin  Udrea
Professor of Semiconductor Engineering

Associate Members

Dr Agnieszka (Aga)  Iwasiewicz-Wabnig
Maxwell Centre Programme Manager
Knowledge Transfer Facilitator, Cavendish Laboratory
Engagement Manager
Knowledge Transfer Facilitator - Electrical Engineering
Mr. Jim  Platts
Senior Teaching Associate
CARES Communications and External Affairs Executive
Dr Beatrix  Schlarb-Ridley
Director of Innovation and Impact

Graduate Students

Visiting Researchers