skip to primary navigationskip to content

Energy Storage

Energy Storage research within the energy initiative is carried out across a number of departments and research groups at the University of Cambridge.

There are also national hubs including the Energy Storage Research Network and the Faraday Institute with Cambridge leading on the battery degradation project.

Research includes:

Fuel Cells


Batteries and Supercapacitors

Thermal Storage

  • Nano-scale structures for thermal energy storage.
  • Gas storage materials: a new family of zeolitic frameworks based upon lithium-boron imidazolates, which could be used for gas storage and catalysis.

 Batteries and smart grid:

  • Stability of the grid and impact of storage technologies and their control
  • Application of power control electronics and strategies to maximise the impact of battery technology.

We collaborate with industrial partners and are also actively involved in increasing both energy awareness and public understanding of the opportunities and challenges in energy storage.

Please visit individual faculty profiles to learn more about their research in the Energy Storage theme.  The lead for Energy Storage is Professor Clare Grey.


People specializing in this area

Principal Investigators

Dr Mark Ainslie, CEng

Applied superconductivity in electrical engineering, including superconducting electric machine design, power system protection and energy storage, and electromagnetic modelling, including FEM.

Professor Gehan Amaratunga

Materials and technologies for electrical energy and power.

Professor Tim Burstein

This research concerns the corrosion and protection of metals, the development of novel, low-cost fuel-cell systems, and the surface electrochemistry and electrochemical processing of metals.

Dr. Tim Coombs

Superconducting magnetic energy storage, energy storage flywheels

Professor Judith Driscoll

My research is concerned with the materials science of complex functional  materials and nanostructures.

Dr John Durrell

Dr Durrell's research interests centre around the structure and properties of the Flux Line Lattice in superconductors

Dr Siân E Dutton

Siân’s research is on the use of complex oxides in energy applications including batteries, solid state magnetic cooling and photovoltaics.

Professor Ian Farnan

Oxygen diffusion in fluorite systems for fuel cells

Professor Derek Fray, FRS, FREng

1.  Increasing the capacity of the anode in lithium ion batteries by incorporating tin and silicon into carbon nanotubes.

Professor Bartlomiej Andrzej Glowacki

Development of the efficient hydrogen liquefaction processes.

Solid Oxide Fuel Cells, Solid Oxide Electrolyser Cells, Direct Carbon Fuel Cells

Flywheel with superconducting hybrid bearing

Professor Clare Grey
  • Lithium ion batteries and supercapacitors:
  • Structural studies of electrode materials;
  • Development of techniques for insitu measurements of battery/supercap performance. 
  • Fuel cell membranes and catalysts for SOFCs:
  • Structure and dynamics
Dr. Sohini Kar-Narayan

Ferroelectric materials for cooling and energy  applications

Professor R. Vasant Kumar

Electrochemical redox reactions at the interface of electrodes and electrolytes and morphology of electrodic materials

Dr Teng Long

Connection of electrical energy stores to the grid including interfacing hardware and control. 

Dr. Mick Mantle

The development and application of quantitative multi-nuclear magnetic resonance techniques to problems encountered in the chemical and pharmaceutical industries.

Professor Paul Midgley

My research is based on the development and application of new electron  microscopy techniques to study the structural and functional properties of a  variety of materials with high spatial resolution in 2 and 3 dimensions.

Dr. Patrick R Palmer, C.Eng.

Optimisation of hybrid vehicles

Electrical motor drives

Fuel cell systems

Power electronics


Professor Michiel Sprik

Computational chemistry of electrode/electrolyte interfaces

Dr. Alex White

Two-phase flow (especially  vapour-droplet flows), the thermodynamics of power generation,  Computational Fluid Dynamics, and heat pumps.

Professor Alan Windle

My research team is based around the creation and exploitation of carbon  nanostructures in materials science

Dr. Paul Wood

The synthesis and characterisation of new materials, primarily using  solvothermal synthesis

Professor Dominic Wright

The development of new, well-defined synthetic routes which allow the logical  assembly of a broad range of main group and transition metal compounds, many of  which have been almost unexplored previously and yet have important future  applications in materials science and catalysis.

Visiting Researchers

Prof. Marga Jann

Energy storage and savings in buildings through the incorporation of Trombe walls (or standard solar walls) and solar water walls in design.