skip to content


Interdisciplinary Research Centre

Manufacturing research within the energy initiative is carried out across a number of departments and research groups at the University of Cambridge.

Research includes:

  • Carbon Footprint Reduction, un-photocopying, re-using steel and aluminium without melting, reduction of energy demand in paper-making using online optimisation and control, and monitoring and control of emissions in industrial processes using sensors.
  • Energy Efficient Industrial Processes, including hydrogen based low-energy methods for metal production and metal reclamation, novel reduction of metal oxides & electro-deoxidation for solar-grade silicon.
  • Recycling, including microwave heating and pyrolysis to process carbon-intensive forms of waste in more environmentally friendly ways; treatment of printed circuit boards to reclaim the components and all the metals; and an environmentally friendly way of recycling lead acid batteries.
  • Industrial sustainability, research into ways to enable industry and manufacturing to become more sustainable.


Some key centres and initiatives include:


We collaborate with industrial partners and are also actively involved in increasing both energy awareness and public understanding of the opportunities and challenges in manufacturing.


Please visit individual faculty profiles to learn more about their research in the Manufacturing theme.  

People specializing in this area

Principal Investigators

Dr. Paul  Barker
University Associate Professor
Claire  Barlow
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Senior Teaching Associate
Adam Boies
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Professor of Nanomaterials and Aerosol Engineering
Dr. Stuart  Clarke
Professor of Surface Science
Professor John  Clarkson
Jonathan  Cullen
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Professor of Sustainable Engineering
Michael  De Volder
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Professor of Advanced Materials Engineering
Professor Steve  Evans
Director of Research in Industrial Sustainability
Professor Lynn  Gladden
Executive Chair of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)
Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering
Dr Stephan  Hofmann
Professor in Nanotechnology
Professor Bill  Jones
Professor of Materials Chemistry
Professor Duncan  McFarlane
Professor of Industrial Information Engineering
Head, Distributed Information & Automation Laboratory
Dr Laura  Torrente
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Professor Andy  Neely
Pro-Vice-Chancellor: Enterprise and Business Relations
Dr. Ajith Kumar Parlikad
Dr André  Cabrera Serrenho
University Assistant Professor
Dr. Hugh  Shercliff
University Associate Professor
Dr. Yongjiang  Shi
University Lecturer
Research Director of CIM
Dr. Jagjit Singh Srai
Director of Research, and Head, Centre for International Manufacturing
Dr. Andrew  Wheatley
Professor of Materials Chemistry
Professor Ian  Wilson
Professor of Soft Solids and Surfaces

Associate Members

Senior Commercialisation Associate
Innovation & Enterprise Project Officer
Engagement Manager

Postdoctoral Researchers

Graduate Students