skip to content


Interdisciplinary Research Centre

Nuclear research within the energy initiative is carried out across a number of departments and research groups at the University of Cambridge.

Research areas include:

  • Reactor Waste and Deep Geological Disposal of Waste, including investigations into the subsurface geophysics of deep geological disposal sites.
  • Integration with Energy and Energy Related Networks, especially for new fusion and fission reactor concepts.
  • New Reactor Systems for both electricity and heat production.  This area combines technical investigations with policy and finance-related research.
  • Nuclear Policy and Energy Security, including issues relating to the global expansion of nuclear energy while taking into account security, safety, finance and regulatory concerns.
  • Radiation Damage and New Materials, including both modelling and experimental investigations into materials for power reactors and storage containers.

Some key research centres include:


We collaborate with industrial partners and are also actively involved in increasing both energy awareness and public understanding of the opportunities and challenges in nuclear energy.

Please visit individual faculty profiles to learn more about their research in the nuclear energy theme.  

People specializing in this area

Principal Investigators

Professor Emilio  Artacho
Professor of Theoretical Mineral Physics
Professor Laura  Diaz Anadon
Professor of Climate Change Policy
Fellow, Cambridge Centre for Environment, Energy and Natural Resource Governance (C-EENRG)
Professor Ian  Farnan
Senior Lecturer
01223 333431
Professor Lindsay  Greer
Professor of Materials Science
01223 334308
Professor Robert  Mair
Head of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Professor of Geotechnical Engineering
Professor Richard  Needs
Professor of Theoretical Physics
Dr. Nikos  Nikiforakis
Director for Academic Programmes, Centre for Scientific Computing
Dr Geoff  Parks
Reader in Nuclear Engineering
01223 748553
Professor Mike  Payne
Head of Theory of Condensed Matter Group
01223 337381
Dr Simon  Taylor
Director of the Master of Finance Programme
University Lecturer in Finance
+44 (0)1223 338179

Associate Members

Senior Commercialisation Associate
Engagement Manager