skip to primary navigationskip to content

MacRobert Award 2020 - Powering net zero Britain - the current ideas

last modified Jul 23, 2020 11:28 PM

To mark the 51st year of the MacRobert Award, the most prestigious prize for UK engineering innovation, the Royal Academy of Engineering assembled an expert panel to discuss how British engineers can apply their creativity to decarbonise our homes, travel and workplaces while creating jobs and a better environment for all over the next 30 years.


Chaired by Helen Czerski, physicist and presenter, the panel included Professor Sir Richard Friend FREng FRS, Chair of the MacRobert Award judges, and Arup’s Dervilla Mitchell CBE FREng, Chair of the National Engineering Policy Centre’s Net Zero emissions working group.

Dervilla and Sir Richard were joined by Tim Burnhope FREng, Chief Innovation and Growth Oficer at JCB, winner of this year’s MacRobert Award winning innovation, as well as Dr Enass Abo-Hamed, co-founder and CEO of energy storage firm H2GO Power.

The event was broadcast live on 21 July 2020.


Click here for the Royal Academy of Engineering post and details of the finalists and winners.