skip to primary navigationskip to content

Cambridge academics honoured over the New Year

last modified Jan 06, 2016 05:11 PM

Members of the University have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to society in this years New Year Honours List, which include Energy@Cambridge members Professor Dame Ann Dowling and Professor David Mackay.  


Professor Dame Ann Dowling has been appointed to the Order of Merit by HM The Queen. The Order of Merit is given to those who have rendered exceptionally meritorious services towards the advancement of the arts, learning, literature and science. The award is in the personal gift of The Queen, and is limited to 24 recipients. As Professor of Mechanical Engineering is one of the founders of the Energy Efficient Cities initiative in Cambridge.


Professor David MacKay has been knighted for services to scientific advice in Government and science outreach. Mackay, a Fellow of Darwin College, said: “I am absolutely delighted to receive this honour. I'd like to thank all those from across the political spectrum who supported my work advocating a numerate, engineering-based approach to energy policy and climate-change action, and the civil servants who taught me how to deliver scientific advice in Whitehall; I'd also like to express my gratitude to the University of Cambridge for their support for me throughout my career.”


Other members of the University of Cambridge include Professor Alastair Compston (Department of Clinical Neurosciences), Dr Emily Emily Shuckburgh (British Antarctic Survey) and Harvey McGrath (Fellow of St Catharine’s College).


Click here to read further.