skip to content


Interdisciplinary Research Centre

Energy-related research in Materials and Chemistry is key focus area in Cambridge and includes work focused on the fundamental synthesis, physics and chemistry of materials, through to the processing of the materials and production of devices.  The Departments of Chemistry, Physics, Engineering and Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology and Materials Science and Metallurgy are particularly active in this area.  Focus areas include:

  • Functional materials, including low cost nanostructured solar cells and light emitting devices and graphene for energy harvesting, conversion, electricity storage and transport
  • Catalysis for fuel cells and sustainable chemical processes
  • Sustainable chemistry, including the efficient use of resources and the development of new catalytic chemical reactions and products for sustainable applications.

The £20 million donation by Mr. David Harding to establish the Winton Programme for the Physics of Sustainability, launched in 2011, will support research programmes that explore basic science which can generate the new technologies and new industries that will be needed to meet the demands of a growing population on our already strained natural resources. The programme will provide studentships, research fellowships, and support for new academic staff as well as investment in research infrastructure of the highest level, pump-priming for novel research projects, support for collaborations within the University and outside. There will be a strong emphasis upon fundamental research that will have importance for the sustainability agenda in the long-term.

Please visit individual faculty profiles to learn more about their research in the Materials and Chemistry theme. 

People specializing in this area

Principal Investigators

Professor Abir  Al-Tabbaa
Professor in Geotechnical Engineering
Member of Energy IRC Steering Committee
Professor Ali  Alavi
Professor of Theoretical Chemistry
Dr. Paul  Barker
Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Professor Jeremy  Baumberg
Professor Sir Harry  Bhadeshia
Tata Steel Professor of Metallurgy
Director, SKF Steel Technology Centre
Professor Mark  Blamire
Professor of Device Materials
Professor Tim  Burstein
Professor of Materials Chemistry and Corrosion
ENERGY STORAGE - Corrosion and protection of metals, development of novel, low-cost fuel-cell systems, and surface electrochemistry and electrochemical
Professor Tony  Cheetham
Goldsmiths' Professor of Materials Science
NUCLEAR ENERGY - functional inorganic and hybrid materials
PHOTOVOLTAICS - synthesis of novel phases of hybrid materials, chemical and structural characterisation, and study of their properties
ENERGY EFFICIENCY - functional inorganic and hybrid materials
Professor Daping  Chu
Head of the Photonics & Sensors Group and the Chairman of the CAPE (Centre for Advanced Photonics and Electronics) Steering Committee
Professor Bill (W.J.) Clegg
Professor of Materials Science & Metallurgy
Professor Bill  Clyne
Professor of Mechanics of Materials
Dr Jacqui  Cole
Royal Society University Research Fellow
Head of the Structure & Dynamics group, Cavendish Laboratory
Professor Harry  Coles
Head of the Molecular Materials for the Photonics Group and Director of the Centre of Molecular Materials for Photonics and Electronics
Professor Judith  Driscoll
Professor of Materials Science
Member of Energy Transitions@Cambridge Strategic Advisory Board
Professor Stephen  Elliott
Professor of Chemical Physics
01223 336525
Dr Rachel  Evans
Professor Ian  Farnan
Senior Lecturer
01223 333431
Dr. Amalio  Fernandez-Pacheco
EPSRC Early Career Fellow/Winton Advanced Research Fellow
Dr Adrian  Fisher
Member of Energy Transitions@Cambridge Strategic Advisory Board
01223 763996
Professor Norman  Fleck
Professor of Mechanics of Materials
Director of the Cambridge Centre for Micromechanics
Dr. Andrew  Flewitt
University Reader in Electronic Engineering
Professor Sir Richard  Friend
Cavendish Professor of Physics,
Director of the Winton Programme for the Physics of Sustainability,
Director of Energy Transitions@Cambridge Strategic Advisory Board
Professor Jonathan  Goodman
Professor in Chemistry
01223 336434
Professor Lindsay  Greer
Professor of Materials Science
01223 334308
Professor Clare  Grey
Geoffrey Moorhouse Gibson Professor
Member of the Energy Transitions@Cambridge Strategic Advisory Board
Professor Bill  Jones
Professor of Materials Chemistry
Dr. Sohini  Kar-Narayan
Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellow
Professor R. Vasant  Kumar
Reader in Materials Chemistry
+44 1223 334327
Dr Alpha  Lee
Winton Advanced Research Fellow
Professor Neil  Mathur
Professor in Materials Physics
Professor Paul  Midgley
Professor of Materials Science
Director of the Electron Microscope Facility
Professor Bill  Milne
Director of the Centre for Advanced Photonics and Electronics
Head of Electrical Engineering
Professor Jonathan R. Nitschke
University Professor
EPSRC Leadership Fellow
Professor Mike  Payne
Head of Theory of Condensed Matter Group
01223 337381
Professor Erwin  Reisner
Member of Energy Transitions@Cambridge Strategic Advisory Board
Professor Ashwin  Seshia
Professor of Microsystems Technology
Professor Henning  Sirringhaus
Hitachi Professor of Electron Device Physics
Head of Microelectronics Group, Cavendish Laboratory
01223 337557
Dr. Howard  Stone
Deputy Director - Rolls-Royce University Technology Centre
01223 334320

Associate Members

Senior Commercialisation Associate
Innovation & Enterprise Project Officer
Events and Marketing Coordinator
Engagement Manager
Solid-state NMR specialist
Laboratory manager
Mr. Jim  Platts
Senior Teaching Associate
CARES Communications and External Affairs Executive

Postdoctoral Researchers

Research Fellow in the Sciences, Trinity Hall

Graduate Students