skip to primary navigationskip to content

Policy, Economics and Risk

The Policy, Economics and Risk theme encompasses research in the Faculty of Economics, Judge Business School, Department of Land Economy, Department of Geography and the Faculty of Law, among other institutions and focuses on the following areas:

Economics and policy includes the analysis of decarbonisation, energy security and affordability of energy with particular reference to the operation of gas and electricity markets.  The Energy Policy Research Group is particularly active in this area and their key areas of work include regulation and markets , technology and innovation, governance and politics, and climate change policy.

The Cambridge Centre for Climate Change Mitigation Research (4CMR) undertakes interdisciplinary work directed towards the scholarly study of the interactions between energy, environmental and economic systems as these relate to the challenge of reducing the risks from climate change, primarily through mitigation.

The study of risk includes energy infrastructure investments, energy security and regulation, and how to embed these risks into project planning and market structures.

Please visit individual faculty profiles to learn more about their research in the Policy, Economics and Risk theme.  The Energy Lead for Policy, Economics and Risk is .

People specializing in this area

Principal Investigators

Dr. Jonathan Chaplin

Role of culture, values and religion in policy-framework; public theology as critique of energy policy.

Dr Markus Gehring

Sustainable Development in European and International Law

European Environmental Law

Professor Peter Guthrie, OBE

Peter Guthrie's research includes decision making towards sustainable development in infrastaructure, and energy efficiency in the built environment.

Dr. Chris Hope

Integrated Assessment Modelling of Climate Change

Professor David Howarth

Environmental Law, Climate Change Policy

Professor Michael Pollitt

Economics of energy and climate policy; competition in energy services; competition in and across energy networks

Professor Danny Ralph

Investment risk in electricity generation capacity

Modelling security of supply

Dr. David Michael Reiner

energy prices and politics; national climate change policies, policy design; public perceptions of energy technologies, regulatory policy; competition policy; science policy and communicating science and technology.

Professor Keith Richards

Role of science and technology in environmental policy

Dr. Minna Sunikka-Blank

Sustainable building policies, a comparative analysis of European countries

Dr. Liz Watson
  • Climate change, security and Livelihoods
  • Visiting Researchers

    Prof. Marga Jann

    Working through and implementing government policies, funding and risk (along with navigating corruption, in some instances) in effecting new energy technologies and strategies comprise a good deal of the architect and planner's research focus.