skip to content


Interdisciplinary Research Centre

Research in Smart Systems and Device Design theme within the University of Cambridge's energy initiative is designing solutions for the use of data and computation to reduce energy use. It brings together research undertaken in the Computer Laboratory and Departments of Engineering, Physics and Materials Science and Metallurgy.

Key areas of expertise at the University of Cambridge include:

  • Energy efficient computing lowering the energy consumption of computing infrastructure through low-power chip architectures, programming for multi-core, virtualisation, and power analysis of mobile devices
  • Photonics and electronics including novel solutions for backlighting displays, low-energy luminescent materials, and the design of large area electronics for the built environment
  • Networks and communication increasing the efficiency and utility of moving information by reducing energy consumption, increasing bandwidth, lowering latency and designing low energy network protocols
  • Sensing to effectively monitor the physical environment. This information can be used to optimise usage and utilisation, pre-emptively detect physical faults or defects, or to provide the basis of feedback for inspiring behaviour change
  • Energy demand management through the use of mobile or embedded devices for control and reporting, developing applications and managing personal information
  • Security and dependability to improve the trustworthiness of computers running our energy networks and systems

Example projects include: Computing for the Future of the PlanetIntelligent Energy Aware NetworksWINES Smart Infrastructure, and Transport Information Management Environment.

Please visit individual faculty profiles to learn more about their research in the Smart Systems and Device Design theme.  

People specializing in this area

Principal Investigators

Professor Ross  Anderson
Professor of Security Engineering
Professor Jeremy  Baumberg
Professor Alastair  Beresford
Professor of Computer Security
Dr Alan  Blackwell
Reader in Interdisciplinary Design, Computer Laboratory
Professor Daping  Chu
Nanjing Professor of Technology and Innovation
Dr Jacqui  Cole
Royal Academy of Engineering Research Professorship in Materials Physics Head of Molecular Engineering Group
Professor Russell  Cowburn
+44 (0)1223 337277
Professor Jon  Crowcroft
Marconi Professor of Communications Systems
Michael  De Volder
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Professor of Advanced Materials Engineering
Professor Andrea  Ferrari
Dr. Andrew  Flewitt
Professor of Electronic Engineering
Professor Sir Richard  Friend
Director of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Cavendish Professor of Physics
Dr Stephan  Hofmann
Professor in Nanotechnology
Professor Andy  Hopper
Professor of Computer Technology
Professor Ian  Leslie
Professor of Computer Science
Director of University Information Services
Dr Ioannis  Lestas
Professor of Control Engineering
Teng Long
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Lecturer in Power Electronics
Professor Duncan  McFarlane
Professor of Industrial Information Engineering
Head, Distributed Information & Automation Laboratory
Professor Campbell  Middleton
Laing O'Rourke Professor of Construction Engineering
Professor Andrew  Moore
Professor Andy  Neely
Pro-Vice-Chancellor: Enterprise and Business Relations
Erwin  Reisner
Professor of Energy and Sustainability
Member of Energy IRC Steering Committee
Dr Andrew  Rice
Professor of Computer Science
Professor Peter  Robinson
Professor of Computer Technology
Director of Research in the Department of Computer Science and Technology
Professor Ian  White
van Eck Professor of Engineering
Professor Tim  Wilkinson
Professor of Photonic Engineering

Associate Members

Deputy Director, Centre for Climate Change Engagement
Engagement Manager
Head Future Systems
Dr Beatrix  Schlarb-Ridley
Director of Innovation and Impact

Postdoctoral Researchers

Graduate Students