skip to content


Interdisciplinary Research Centre

Energy efficiency research at the University of Cambridge cuts across all other energy research themes.  Examples of key initiatives that focus on energy efficiency include:

  • Integrated consideration of buildings, transport and urban planning, including the Energy Efficient Cities Initiative, which addresses energy demand reduction in the urban environment by integrating design and development of novel technologies for energy efficient cities, with links to economic, policy and regulatory considerations.
  • Energy efficient buildings, using novel design and new technologies to reduce the energy consumed in business and domestic buildings, including the Energy Efficiency in the Built Environment project and work at the BP Institute on energy efficiency for HVAC (heating, ventilation and air-conditioning).
  • Investigations into energy use, emissions, environmental impact, capital and operating costs of current and future transport technology and the system wide impact of technological innovations through the use of global transport demand modelling and transport system technology assessment.
  • Energy efficient chemical, refining and materials production processes, as well as energy efficient recycling processes.  This research is focussed in the Departments of Engineering, Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology and Materials Science and Metallurgy.
  • Investigations into global and regional energy demand scenarios and energy policy interventions to increase energy efficiency and reduce demand.  Two of the largest research groups in Cambridge addressing these issues are the Energy Policy Research Group and the Centre for Climate Change Mitigation Research.
  • Optimising the design of the next generation radio telescope, the Square Kilometer Array, for low power consumption and utilisation of novel renewable energy technologies in a desert environment in the Cavendish Laboratory.

Please visit individual faculty profiles to learn more about their research in the Energy Efficiency theme. 

People specializing in this area

Principal Investigators

Abir Al-Tabbaa
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Professor in Geotechnical Engineering
Director of FIBE2 CDT
Professor Ross  Anderson
Professor of Security Engineering
Dr Alexander  Archibald
Lecturer in Atmospheric Chemistry Modelling
Professor Jeremy  Baumberg
Dr Alan  Blackwell
Reader in Interdisciplinary Design, Computer Laboratory
Dr. Adam  Boies
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Professor David  Cardwell
Head of Department of Engineering
Professor of Superconducting Engineering
Professor Daping  Chu
Head of the Photonics & Sensors Group and the Chairman of the CAPE (Centre for Advanced Photonics and Electronics) Steering Committee
Dr Jacqui  Cole
Royal Society University Research Fellow
Head of the Structure & Dynamics group, Cavendish Laboratory
Professor Harry  Coles
Head of the Molecular Materials for the Photonics Group and Director of the Centre of Molecular Materials for Photonics and Electronics
Dr Jonathan  Cullen
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
University Lecturer, Energy, Transport and Urban Infrastructure
Professor Dame Ann  Dowling
President of the Royal Academy of Engineering
Former Head of Department of Engineering, Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Chairman of the University Gas Turbine Partnership with Rolls Royce
01223 332739
Dr. Amalio  Fernandez-Pacheco
EPSRC Early Career Fellow/Winton Advanced Research Fellow
Dr. Andrew  Flewitt
University Reader in Electronic Engineering
Professor Andy  Hopper
Professor of Computer Technology, Head of Computer Laboratory
Professor Frank  Kelly
Professor of the Mathematics of Systems
Master of Christ's College
Professor Ian  Leslie
Professor of Computer Science
Professor Paul  Linden
G.I Taylor Professor of Fluid Mechanics
Dr Teng  Long
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Lecturer in Power Electronics
Professor Jan  Maciejowski
Professor of Control Engineering
Professor Robert  Mair
Head of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Professor of Geotechnical Engineering
Professor Duncan  McFarlane
Professor of Service and Support Engineering
Professor Campbell  Middleton
Senior Lecturer in Structural Engineering
Professor Bill  Milne
Director of the Centre for Advanced Photonics and Electronics
Head of Electrical Engineering
Professor Michael Andrew Parker
Professor of High Energy Physics
Dr Andrew  Rice
University Senior Lecturer
Professor Peter  Robinson
Professor of Computer Technology
Professor Ashwin  Seshia
Professor of Microsystems Technology
Professor Kenichi  Soga
Professor of Civil Engineering
Dr Sam  Stranks
Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee
Professor Ian  White
van Eck Professor of Engineering
Professor Tim  Wilkinson
Professor of Photonic Engineering

Associate Members

Senior Commercialisation Associate
Events and Marketing Coordinator
Dr Agnieszka (Aga)  Iwasiewicz-Wabnig
Maxwell Centre Programme Manager
Knowledge Transfer Facilitator, Cavendish Laboratory
Engagement Manager
CARES Communications and External Affairs Executive
Head Future Systems
Dr Beatrix  Schlarb-Ridley
Director of Innovation and Impact
Director, Centre for Smart Infrastructure and Construction

Postdoctoral Researchers

Graduate Students

Visiting Researchers