skip to content


Interdisciplinary Research Centre

Research areas include: shipping, marine emissions, gas phase nanoparticles, air quality, optimisation, carbon abatement, emissions reduction technologies, digital twins, verification, lifecycle analysis, environmental flows, pollutants, CO2 monitoring, sensor data analysis, atmospheric chemistry and biosphere atmosphere interactions.

Some key centres and initiatives include:

Researchers working in this area:

Prof Laura Diaz Anadon Professor of Climate Change Policy
Prof Alexander Archibald

Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry

Prof Holger Babinsky Professor of Aerodynamics
Prof Adam Boies Professor of Nanomaterials and Aerosol Engineering
Prof Jonathan Cullen

Professor of Sustainable Engineering

Member of the Energy IRC Steering Committee

Prof Simone Hochgreb Professor of Engineering
Prof Rod Jones Professor of Atmospheric Science
Prof Srinivasan Keshav Professor of Computer Science
Prof Markus Kraft Professor of Chemical Engineering
Prof Epaminondas Mastorakos Professor of Applied Thermodynamics 
Prof Ajith Kumar Parlikad Professor of Asset Management
Prof John Pyle Former 1920 Professor of Physical Chemistry
Dr Andre Cabrera Serrenho University Assistant Professor in Engineering, Environment and Sustainable Development
Prof Nedunchezhian Swaminathan Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Dr Eiko Yoneki

Senior Researcher in the Systems Research Group, Dept of Computer Science and Technology