skip to primary navigationskip to content

Carbon Capture, Storage & Use

Carbon Capture, Storage & Use research within the energy initiative is carried out across a number of departments and research groups at the University of Cambridge.

Research into Carbon capture research includes:

  • Chemical looping of solid fuels to produce clean CO2 free of nitrogen.
  • The shift reaction for the hydrogasification of coal to methane gas, as well as steam reforming of methane to hydrogen with solid sorbents which absorb carbon dioxide.
  • The modelling of particle motion and chemical reactions in circulating fluidised beds for oxyfuel firing.

Research into carbon storage includes:

  • The physics and modelling of gravity driven multi-phase flow.
  • The chemistry of fluid-fluid & fluid-mineral reactions.
  • Seismological observations and the sampling of active injection sites & geological analogues.
  • The policy and public perceptions of carbon storage.

Research into captured carbon dioxide use include:

  • Power generation
  • Manufacturing processes
  • Carbonate mineralisation

We collaborate with industrial partners and are also actively involved in increasing both energy awareness and public understanding of the opportunities and challenges in carbon capture, storage & use.

Please visit individual faculty profiles to learn more about their research in the Carbon Capture, Storage & Use theme.  The lead for Carbon Capture, Storage & Use is Professor Mike Bickle.

People specializing in this area

Principal Investigators

Professor Abir Al-Tabbaa


  • CO2 sequestration via mineral carbonation
  • CO2 sequestration in industrial by-products, residues and wastes
  • Stability of wellbore cementitious systems in CO2 rich environment (e.g. associated with CO2 injection and storage in deep saline aquifers and depleted oil and gas reservoirs)
  • Integrated CO2 capture and sequestration systems 
  • Applications of MgO in chemical looping
  • Geological and seawater CO2 sequestration
  • Carbon capture with desalination brine and other by-products
Professor Emilio Artacho

Theoretical simulation of processes relevant to carbon capture mainly at the water/solid interface

Professor Mike Bickle, FRS

Research on geological carbon storage including natural CO2 storage, injection experiments and imaging and modelling storage

Professor Stewart Cant

Combustion modelling and simulation; combustion CFD; two-phase flow modelling and simulation; petrochemical plant explosion safety case analysis

Dr. Colm-Cille Caulfield

Fluid flows where density variations play a critical dynamical role

Dr Stuart Dalziel

Fluid dynamics of the environment

Professor Derek Fray, FRS, FREng

1.  Examining the possibility of capturing the carbon dioxide evolved from alakaline fuel cells by mineralisation

2.  The use of carbon dioxide to upgrade potassium poor minerals

Professor Herbert Huppert

Fluid mechanics of carbon dioxide sequestration.

Professor R. Vasant Kumar

Electrochemical redox reactions at the interface of electrodes and electrolytes and morphology of electrodic materials

Dr. Jie Li

Computational fluid dynamics, mostly dealing with interfaces at low Reynolds number.

Dr. Dongfang Liang

Scour and liquefaction around offshore structures, tsunami wave propagation, run-up and impact on coastal structures, flood risk modelling, turbulent mixing and water quality modelling

Professor Robert Mair

Underground Construction, Urban Infrastructure Renewal and Innovative Sensor Technologies for Infrastructure Monitoring

Professor Epaminondas Mastorakos

Combustion and reacting flows

Dr. Jerome Neufeld

Fluid dynamics of the earth in a host of geophysical settings

Professor Simon Redfern

Mineral Dynamics

Dr. David Michael Reiner
  • Public understanding of the subsurface, attitudes towards conventional and unconventional fossil fuels
  • Political and social acceptability of CCS infrastructure based on stakeholder surveys and public opinion surveys on four continents; regulation and economics of CCS; and CCS deployment in developing countries
  • Member of Steering Committee of International Energy Agency Greenhouse Gas Programme Social Research Network
  • Member of European Commission Zero Emission Platform Task Force on Public Communications
  • Member of CATO-2 (Dutch national CCS programme) Advisory Board
Professor Alexander Routh

Research in colloid science and fluid mechanics

Professor Nedunchezhian Swaminathan

Energy and Environment,  Combustion modelling and physics and the impact of combustion on the environment.

Dr. Alex White

Two-phase flow (especially  vapour-droplet flows), the thermodynamics of power generation,  Computational Fluid Dynamics, and heat pumps.

Professor Nicky White

Vertical Motions, River Drainage and Mantle Convection

Professor Robert White

Passive seismic network in the volcanic zones of north and central Iceland

Professor Andy Woods

Fluid flow processes, many including phase changes. The character of the work includes both theoretical analysis and experimental modelling.